There is a trace of a Saxon door in the tower, but the first real reference is of 1292, when mention is made of the building being a chapel belonging to the Mother Church at Sherborne. By 1405 it was described as being dependent on that church. However, this fascinating Gothic Survival (not Revival) church was completely rebuilt in 1628 and sits at the end of a quiet lane, in a very peaceful setting, adjacent to a mellow manor house. The plan is still medieval with an architectural style that leans towards Late Perpendicular. There was a rebuild in 1875 of both the arcades and the crenellated parapets were added externally.
The wonderful furnishings owe much to classical influence and are designed for Prayer Book worship. There are pews with shell top ends and a magnificent wooden screen surmounted by a great scroll, with a smaller one at the entrance to the north aisle. The pulpit has an hour glass stand. There is an interesting lectern, which is just a desk attached to the screen. Note the small scrolled font with a lavish later cover. In a glass case, there is an amazing wooden chain of 769 single links and cross, all carved from a single piece of lime wood by the Rev Wm Mayo, a past incumbent.
This delightful church will enchant anyone interested in beautiful wooden objects.
The Trust gratefully acknowledges images and text by Robin Adeney ©